Ice Fishing Info NH Ice Fishing NJ Ice Fishing NY Ice Fishing
PA Ice Fishing
VT Ice Fishing MA Ice Fishing

Author Topic: New to Ice fishing just moved to Rindge NH  (Read 735 times)

Offline JwebRindge

• Ice Man
New to Ice fishing just moved to Rindge NH
« on: February 11, 2016, 01:40:35 PM »
I just moved to Rindge and I'm on Contoocook Lake and I'm a total newbie to ice fishing.  I went out last weekend and purchased all the stuff I need to start I think.  I was very excited to give it a go, so I went out on the lake drilled some holes were I got fish in the fall but no luck. 

I'm interested in pan fish.  Do I fish in deeper water or shallow?  Should I jig or put the tip up with a minnow? 

Like I said I a total newbie so any insight would be great..

Thanks
Jweb

Ice Fishing 247

New to Ice fishing just moved to Rindge NH
« on: February 11, 2016, 01:40:35 PM »

Offline fishin_musician

• Administrator
  • Game Over, Stupid Won
Re: New to Ice fishing just moved to Rindge NH
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 02:08:03 PM »
We.have a very knowledgeable member from your state. CaptSpike, i'm sure he will be able to share some pointers.
FM
Have an Ice Day!

Offline Spider1

• The grumpy ol' dust farter
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2016, 03:24:14 PM »
Welcome jweb! The main thing is safety. One of the first things you learn is what not to walk on. If the ice is less than 4" thick of good looking ice, wait for another day. You don't have much fun when your up to your chin in 33 degree water. get a pair of ice picks. they are hand held picks that you keep around your neck in case you go in. they can save your life.

As far as fishing for pannies, a small ultra light or light jigging rod around 24" or less, some small jigs and a pocket full of waxies or spikes (aka maggots). Let the jig hit the bottom and then bring it up about a foot. After that it's just some light jigging action and then let it sit, a little more jigging, then let it sit.