Author Topic: Vex or marcum?  (Read 2702 times)

Offline tightline

Vex or marcum?
« on: November 10, 2006, 07:09:38 PM »
I was looking into buying either the vex fl8 or the marcum lx-5 could anyone give me some advice on which would be better?  I have never used a flasher before but have heard they are great any feedback would be appreciated, and thanks to everyone who responds.

Ice Fishing 247

Vex or marcum?
« on: November 10, 2006, 07:09:38 PM »

Offline nightfisher

Re: Vex or marcum?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 07:19:14 PM »
Which ever you choose, a flasher is a really cool tool for ice fishing. Any brand name will do, it comes down to your budget and personal preference. I have a vex and love it. I both jig and tip-up fish, when exploreing new water or jigging or even dead-sticking with a rod it's really cool to see the presence and reaction of the fish under you. Its great for mapping out new water to get a feel of depth and structure, and with the better units you can see your bait while jigging and determine the mood of the fish. plus on slow days seeing fish movement can keep you on the ice longer, increasing the chances of hooking up.

Offline miller

• 247 Pro Staff
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 07:48:22 PM »
I agree 100% with NF.  One of the best investments I've made for fishing.  I have the Vex FL-8SE.  Never used a Marcum but they are probably quite similar.  It might be worthwhile to take a ride to Cabela's or a place that carries both and compare them side by side and see which one you like best.  You wont go wrong with either.

Online fishin_musician

• Administrator
  • May the Ice Be With You
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2006, 09:38:17 PM »